Back up your data

In this Article

Your data is safe in Notion. Everything is stored in the cloud, and we keep per-minute backups of your page content on our server. That said, your data belongs to you, so we've made it easy to create your own backups and keep your information portable 💿


Export your workspace

Your Notion data will always be backed up in the cloud, but you can also export all of it at once should you need local copies for safekeeping. Export lets you download all your pages as HTML, Markdown, or CSV (for databases), and any files/images you've uploaded, too.

If you're on an Enterprise Plan, you can also export your entire workspace to PDF, which can be helpful for legal and compliance backups.

  • Go to Settings & Members at the top of your left-hand sidebar. Select Settings in the sidebar of that window.

  • Scroll down and click the Export all workspace content button.

  • You'll receive an email from Notion with a link to download your file(s). The link will expire after 7 days.

Note: You can only export your workspace on desktop or browser, not mobile.

Restore from trash

Your trash doubles as a sort of archive, where you can easily recover pages you've deleted.

  • To restore pages, go to Trash, find the page you're looking for, and click on the curved arrow icon next to it. Your page will return to where it was last in your workspace.

Restore from page history

You can view and restore past versions of any Notion page for up to 30 days (if you're on a paid plan). Learn more about page history here →

  • Click the ••• menu at the top right of any Notion page. Choose Page history.

  • To recover only specific content blocks from a previous version, click on that version, copy the content you want using cmd/ctrl + c and paste it into your current page.

  • You can also restore an entire past version so it becomes your current version. Click the blue button that says Restore version.

Accidental deletions

Accidents happen! If you accidentally delete a page, a workspace, or even your entire account, we can help. We keep per-minute backups of our database, which allows us to restore a snapshot of any page in the past 30 days if you need it.

  • Send us a message in Notion by clicking ? at the bottom right on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile).

  • Or email us at team@makenotion.com.


FAQs

I tried clicking the Export all workspace content button but received an error message.

Oof, so sorry about this 😓 For particularly large workspaces, the Export all workspace content function may have some trouble completing the export. We're investigating this issue and hope to have a resolution soon.

As a temporary workaround for this issue, you can export in smaller batches:

  1. Navigate to a top-level page in your workspace

  2. Click the ••• button at the top right of the page, then click Export (you may not see this option if you're not an admin in the workspace)

  3. Choose Markdown & CSV or HTML as the export format, and turn on the Include subpages toggle

  4. Repeat for any other important top-level pages in the workspace that you'd like to have a backup of

Please note that we keep per-minute backups on our servers, and can help with data recovery at any time at team@makenotion.com. Thanks for your patience while we work on fixing this issue!

Is there a way to schedule automatic backups?

Not at the moment, but we're continuing to update our API, which may help to enable automatic backups in the future through integrations ⚙️ Learn more about our API here →

How can I migrate all my Notion content to a different account?

  1. Log into the account that has the workspace.

  2. Consolidate all of your pages under one top-level page there.

  3. Share this page with full access to the email address of the destination account.

  4. Log into the destination account and navigate to the workspace switcher.

  5. Access that shared top-level page.

  6. Select all the sub-pages, click the ⋮⋮ icon and select Move To. (Note: you can only move sub-pages, you will not be able to move the top-level page.)

  7. Select the destination workspace.

  8. Voila! Your content has a new home ✨

How can I empty my trash?

There isn't a way to empty your trash all at once. It functions more like an archive where you can find and restore your deleted content. And you can always go into trash to delete pages permanently individually.


Give Feedback

Was this resource helpful?


Up Next

Security & privacy

We know you've entrusted us with valuable data, and we take its security very seriously. Below, we've provided a deep dive into our security practices, protocols and tooling 🔒

Powered by Fruition